On breaking attachment

Buddha advised: “These are the five facts that one should reflect on often, whether one is a woman or a man, lay or ordained.”[1]

The Five Remembrances

I am of the nature to grow old
     There is no way to escape growing old.
I am of the nature to have ill health.
    There is no way to escape having ill health.
I am of the nature to die.
   There is no way to escape death.
All that is dear to me, and everyone I love, are of the nature of change.
   There is no way to escape being separated from them.
My deeds are my closest companions.
   I am the beneficiary of my deeds.
My deeds are the ground on which I stand.

I received an email today that called on my now deeply rooted peace of spirit I have come to get in my meditation, in the blessings found in Maya ceremonies I have taken part in and of those beings of light that I have had the fortune to meet in this part of the world. Reflection rendered replying useless. I would not lend my voice to ego anymore. I’m getting better in anticipating this well as I age; The Universe directed me in a so very timely manner instead, to bussokuseki’s moving post “Fatherhood and the Five Remembrances” that spoke to me about Upajjhatthana Sutta, the Buddhist “Subjects of Contemplation”.

I contemplated and reached in me. A short movie unravelled up to a point where, like in Julio Cortazar’s 1963 novel “Hopscotch” (Original title Rayuela in Spanish), you could watch different versions of the movie from there on. At this junction, the movie froze to a single crisp frame.

I noticed the image, acknowledging it briefly to recall my patterns wired and fast forwarded to their known obscure consequences in an alternative parallel space. Took a deep breath, did away with this version, untangled the pattern, went for the light inside the forest, held hands with myself in this green space of peace, and came back to consciously watch this stop frame image again.

I grinned at the road displayed directly in front of me that I was about to enter and, simply took the one … to its left. It was a limestone white walkway that got me back into harmony with myself and the forest. A few meters ahead I kneeled to drink fresh water from a cenote and realised I had done away with this particularly disruptive attachment and its many years of haunting. It just broke and fell like a crust of dry clay. The veil dropped. It did not matter anymore. It shall not matter either.

Upon exiting the movie, I decided to include the daily contemplation of these Five Remembrances in my early morning hours, that I have shared with you above. Try them from the heart and be well.

One thought on “On breaking attachment

  1. I am so happy that you found something meaningful in that story; I have found The Five Remembrances to be deeply important. So profound, yet such a gentle reminder… I wish you well~

Leave a Reply

